JOINT COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

MINUTES

Date of Meeting: June 4, 2014

Time: 8:15 a.m.

Location: Senate Hearing Room, Boji Building

Members Present: Senator John Pappageorge (Presiding Co-Chair), Senator Arlan Meekhof, Senator

Jim Marleau

Representative Tom McMillin (Co-Chair), Representative Jim Stamas,

Representative Amanda Price, Representative Harvey Santana, Representative

Douglas Geiss

Members Absent with Excuse: Senator Tupac Hunter, Senator Bert Johnson

At 8:20 a.m., the Presiding Co-Chair, Senator Pappageorge, called the meeting to order.

Motion made by Representative McMillin and seconded by Senator Meekoff to adopt minutes from May 22, 2014 meeting. Motion passed without objection.

Motion made by Senator Pappageorge to excuse members absent from the meeting. Motion passed without objection.

Department of Civil Rights, Division on Deaf and Hard of Hearing, Qualified Interpreter—General Rules. (2007-047CR) (JCAR 14-14)

Testimony in support of proposed rules:

Matthew Wesaw, Director, Department of Civil Rights Sandra Maloney, Michigan Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf

Testimony in opposition to proposed rules:

Brad Biladeau, Michigan Association of School Administrators Mindy Miller, Kalamzaoo RESA Trish Lopucki, Northview Public Schools Linda Booth, D.H.I.S. Melissa Kizer, D.H.I.S.

Individuals supporting but not testifying:

Renea Forrest, Henry Ford Health System

Marcy Colton, Deaf C.A.N.

Megan Seipke-Dame

Janet Juris, Michigan Interpreters for the Deaf

Diana McKittrick

Bonnie Jo Gemmill

Stephanie Naeyaert, Deaf Community, Mott Comm. College

Carmen Johnson

Kathryn Vogtmann, Michigan Deaf Association

Brenda Newbeck, Deaf CAN

Kathleen Mitchell

Caroll Schlorff, Detroit Assoc. of the Deaf

Dallas D. Barker, Deaf Community

Margaret Barker

Barney Morrison, Michigan Deaf Assoc.

Michael J. Morrison

Debbie Dietch

Sandria Graham

Dan Levy, MDCR

Freida Morrison, Michigan Deaf Assoc.

Helen Boucher

Elizabeth Gilmore Bystrycki, Michigan Deaf Assoc.

John Stuckless

Individuals opposing but not testifying:

Lisa Hansknecht, Oakland Schools

Jen Smith, MASB

Chris Glass, Kent ISD

Emily Laidlaw, MAISA

Don Olendorf

Jordon Bollinger, LaPointe & Butler, PC

Becky Rocho, Calhoun Isol

Kathy Merry, Wayne RESA

Karen Young, Gratiot Isabella RESD

The following motion was made by Representative Stamas and seconded by Senator Marleau: "Move to waive the remaining session days for the proposed rules, Division on Deaf and Hard of Hearing Qualified Interpreter."

Roll Call Vote:

Senate Yeas: Pappageorge, Meekhof, Marleau

Senate Nays:

House Yeas: McMillin, Stamas, Price, Santana, Geiss

House Nays:

Motion approved by concurring majority.

Meeting adjourned at 9:05 a.m.

Respectfully submitted by, Marge Martin